Skip to content ↓

Joseph Leckie Academy

  • Leadership, Empathy, Community, Kindness, Integrity & Environment


History GCSE (AQA 8145)

Students will follow the AQA GCSE history specification. This exposes students to the key events and personalities of both British and wider-world history and the impact they have had on our lives.

The new GCSE has two papers, each considering a different historical period. While Paper 1 looks into the modern world of the Twentieth Century, Paper 2 examines Ancient to Early Modern History with a focus on Elizabethan England.

The subject allows students to develop their analytical, essay writing and verbal reasoning skills. It will also give them a greater understanding of the world we live in, and allow them to become more knowledgeable about politics and citizenship.

History is an enjoyable and well-respected subject and enjoys consistently high GCSE results. Skills learnt in this subject will complement other areas of the curriculum.

Students have a number of opportunities to attend trips, which will support and further develop their knowledge.  An example of this is visiting the historical environment studied as part of Elizabethan England.

Course Content

Paper 1- Understanding the Modern World

Option 1B- Germany: Democracy to dictatorship, 1890 to 1945

Section B: Inter-war European conflict and tension, 1918-1939

Paper 2

Option 2A- Britain: Health and the people: c1000 to the present day

Section B: Elizabethan England, 1568-1603


The new history GCSE is assessed through two external examination papers one of which will include a study of historical buildings and sources, requiring an out of school visit.  There is no longer a coursework requirement.


The content and concepts developed in history GCSE prepare students for academic A-Level subjects including history, politics, English, law, geography, religious studies and social sciences.

History is a very well-respected subject by universities and is considered by the Russell Group of top Universities as one of the seven most ‘enabling’ subjects to opt for.